Make your own free website on

NewAge On-Line Australia []

CHAKRAS - An Introduction

by White Dove
Courtesy of Inner Star Magazine

In the spiritual movement the word Chakra and the word Aura pops up quite a bit. That's fine. If you know what it means. Pretty confusing if you don't. The following is a short explanation of what The Chakra System is all about.

Asian cultures have used these teachings for about 4,000 years and it's only the last approx. 10 years that this information has filtered into the west. Chakra literally translated from the Hindi means 'Wheel of spinning Energy'. Withing our bodies are contained seven major energy centres. They are located within the body in front of the spinal column and are aligned vertically up and down the spine. Each wheel has a colour of the rainbow and vibrates to a musical note. The major Chakra points are as follows:

1. BASE (or Root Chakra)
It's colour is red and it is located at the base of your spine. It's the Chakra closest to the earth and represents earthly grounding. Fear is felt in this Chakra and it controls your fight or flight response. It is the Chakra of physical survival.

2. SACRAL (or Navel Chakra)
It's colour is orange and it is located between the base of your spine and your navel. It represents your sexuality, creativity, emotions of anger, resentment and frustration.

It's colour is yellow and is located in the solar plexus area, a few inches above the navel. Personal emotions are carried in this Chakra. Feelings of personal power, anger and hostility. Your sensitivity is stored here. It is the seat of your emotional living.

It's colour is green and it is located within your heart. It is the centre of love, harmony and peace. The Asians say that this is the house of the soul as it deals with issues of the soul. It is through this Chakra that we fall in love. We fall in love through our heart Chakra, then that emotion moves to the emotional centre, the solar plexus, then to the sexual Chakra for strong feelings of attrations, then to the base, which promotes feelings of wanting to settle down. We don't fall up in love - we fall down!

It's colour is blue and is located within the throat. It is the Chakra of communication, expression and judgement. Should you experience problems with your throat, it is sometimes said that if you draw the colour blue to this area it will help you say what needs to be said.

6. THIRD EYE (or Brow Chakra)
It's colour is Indigo (a combination of red and blue). It is located at the centre of your forehead. This Chakra is used to question the spiritual nature of our life. It is the Chakra of question. Our inner vision is contained here, inner dreams gifts of clairvoyance, wisdom and perception. The dreams of our life are held in this Chakra.

It's colour is violet and is located at the top of your head. It is the Chakra of Divine purpose, the Chakra of destiny. It balances the interior and the exterior and brings them into a harmonious whole. This Chakra is said to be your own place of connection to God.

This page was found at ""